Your Account: Login or Register

Friday Night Lights: The Making and Meaning of Shabbat

Friday Nights, following Kabbalat Shabbat

This event next occurs Friday, February 23. Click here to view all 9 occurences.
Friday, January 26 - Friday, March 23
Friday, February 2 - Friday, March 30
Friday, February 9 - Friday, April 6
Friday, February 16 - Friday, April 13
Friday, February 23 - Friday, April 20
Friday, March 2 - Friday, April 27
Friday, March 9 - Friday, May 4
Friday, March 16 - Thursday, May 10, 11:00PM
Friday, March 23 - Thursday, May 17, 11:00PM
Hide dates

As the nights get longer and the temperature drops, stay around for a bit after Friday evening services for an inspiring Shiur delivered by Rabbi Soloveichik. There is no better way to transition from the workweek to the aura of Shabbat than experiencing our magnificent Kabbalat Shabbat service followed by Friday Night Lights.

Friday Night Lights returned for 5778 on Friday night, October 20, 2017, and will continue until the Shabbat before Passover, Friday, March 23, 2018.

 

The 2017-2018 season is sponsored by the Julis Family.

Nineteenth Street Synagogue

The congregation's fourth synagogue was built on nineteenth Street, just west of Fifth Avenue.  

1860
Twenty First Street Cemetery

In August of 1829, Shearith Israel’s third cemetery was consecrated.  It was located on Twenty First Street just west of Sixth Avenue

1829